P-40 Warhawk Forums
March 19, 2024, 02:26:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: 1:48 Mauve P-40N "Lope's Hope"  (Read 56152 times)
Vince_M

View Profile
« on: May 06, 2017, 12:04:32 AM »

Hi all,

I'm a slow model builder but am enjoying this 1/48 Mauve P-40N.
The Hasegawa kit is nicer and has fewer flaws to fix; however, this Mauve kit is very nice and will end up looking very good.

I have the True Details resin cockpit upgrade and it is one of their best.  It will fit perfectly.
I also have some metal cockpit sills and that should look good because I plan to have the canopy slid open.
True Details wheels with open spokes will be used but it's an older version where the flattened look is over done making the tires look flat in a way.

I have started on the propeller blades.  I'm picky and have found the Curtiss Electric blades from the old Monogram P-38 kit are best.
So, I have used some old mold rubber to cast copies and that is going well.
It's a one piece mold so some come out with bubbles....about 50%.  However I got four good blades out before one copy broke off inside the mold...due to a bubble I didn't get out.

« Last Edit: May 06, 2017, 12:10:27 AM by Vince_M » Logged
Vince_M

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2017, 12:07:41 AM »

I'm also experimenting with the cockpit paint.
The top is Model Master Acryl interior green and bottom is Humbrol bronze green.
I think the Humbrol is more authentic to the P-40 don't you?

Mark Joyce

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 12:45:44 AM »

Hi Vince,

Glad to see that you are able to get some time in for modeling! I too am a slow builder so can relate.

I also like the Mauve kit, actually finding it an easier build than the Hasegawa one.  My only complaint is the dark color of the plastic, mainly because I am so used to working with grey.